Home

Bryant Literary Review

Bryant Literary Review is an international magazine of poetry and fiction published annually in May. Since our first issue in 2000, we have actively sought to expand our audience. We provide writing that is sophisticated, informed, and in tune with the moment. We see our purpose to be the cultivation of an active and growing connection between our community and the larger literary culture. Our production values are of the highest caliber, and our roster of published authors includes major award and fellowship winners. The BLR provides a respected venue for creative writing of every kind from around the world. Our only standard is quality.

For more information, contact blr@bryant.edu. To submit work, please review the submission guidelines.

Volume 16, May 2015

We see or hear or feel and know we must create. Until we express that idea, we carry this tension – this need to release our thoughts – that is only relieved bit by bit as words fill a page, or brushstrokes texturize a canvas.

Read More

Volume 15, May 2014

Our 15th anniversary edition, featuring work from the current and past two poets laureate of Rhode Island – Rick Benjamin, Lisa Starr, and Tom Chandler.

Fifteen years is an extraordinary run for a literary journal, and the fact that the BLR is still going strong is a real credit to our staff and the support we receive from Bryant University.

Read More

Volume 14, May 2013

What kind of life is one without vivid illustration? How boring it must be to sit in a cubicle all day, do as you’re told, and only have an hour-long lunch break. It took me long to realize that I crave more and have more to offer. Sometimes we find ourselves stuck in the ways of what we’ve been taught; it’s up to us to recognize our own potential.

Read More

Volume 13, May 2012

Poems and stories, like all art, are the scenery of life. They enhance and broaden our perspectives about the world around us. They can be a cathartic source of release from tension built up in our daily lives.

Read More

Volume 12, May 2011

This collection is a testament to the power that writing and the liberal arts can have on the wholeness of an individual. Each year the BLR receives thousands of submissions from dozens of countries and across the U.S. This poses a great challenge to the editorial staff, since we can only publish a small percentage of what we are sent. I am confident that you will enjoy reading each piece included in this year’s issue.

Read More

Volume 11, May 2010

We live in a time when jobs are diminishing while the pursuit of wealth remains out of control. Our days are darkened by the perils of global warming and the threat of terrorism. But despite these challenges, the world pushes on. There is still a light that shines through in creativity and the imagination.

Read More

Volume 10, May 2009

A literary journal mimics an infant in the Dark Ages in that it has a short life expectancy and is likely poor. With this in mind, the Bryant Literary Review celebrates its tenth anniversary.

In that time, we have received poems on graph paper and postcards, as well as a laminated, pocket-sized poem. Other notables include a “bonus poem” included as part of a cover letter which explained the absence of a self addressed stamped envelope, pictures of a squirrel…

Read More

Volume 9, May 2008

Each day, millions follow a routine in a systematic fashion, going through the motions. In the back of their minds dwell thoughts of the following day’s work, questions of politics, finance and, of course, the future. There is often no time to enjoy any aspect of life the way it was intended to be enjoyed.

Read More

Volume 8, May 2007

Graham Greene claimed, “Writing is a form of therapy. Sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose or paint can manage to escape the madness, the melancholia, the panic fear which is inherent in the human situation.” It also provides hope—the hope that when society seems to value activities that dull the mind, there remain those intellectual and inspiring visionaries who provide friction on the slippery slope.

Read More